Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recommendations for cutting a dovetail into slide?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommendations for cutting a dovetail into slide?

Hello All,
    I'd like to have a dovetail cut in the front of my Kahr S9 slide if affordable, any recommendations? I would like to upgrade the stock sights to the XS Big Dot night sights or even Standard Dot night sights if plausible. My rear sight has a dovetail cut already but my front sight has the pin in style, consequently my sight options are highly limited.

Thanks,
    Ralph

I’m not a Kahr expert so I’m not sure if it’s even possible. Also, do you know the sight height would be correct? I’ve got 2 suggestions:

1. Get a Glock 43/43X/48 (not trying to be a smartass!). They have so many more options.
    2. Call Dawson Precision and see what solutions they can give you. Only sights I use. They’re awesome.
    My posts are for general educational and informational purposes only. What you do with this information is your responsibility. I encourage you to seek out professional instruction. Nothing replaces in-person training with a qualified professional to ensure you learn properly and train safely.

Comment

Hey Fred,
      Thanks for the input. I looked at and considered a lot of different striker fired pistols prior to settling on my Kahr S9 and it really wasn't close. I really love the Kahr trigger in comparison to all the other striker fired guns I handled for the following reasons.

1. The Kahr trigger doesn't have a wall. So the trigger pull is smooth all the way to the unbeknownst break and that is unlike all the other striker fired guns I handled. This would include Smith & Wesson, Bersa, Ruger, Walther, Sig Sauer and Glock.

2. The Kahr trigger doesn't have any stacking, consequently the pull is consistent all the way to the break.

3. The Kahr trigger is absolutely buttery smooth with no grit or grab whatsoever on my S9.