Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rapid fire drills and advice please.

Hello All,
    Can y'all provide some tips on rapid or quick fire for me. I have been shooting for nearly 50 yrs but my instinct is precision shooting, having grown up hunting. Rapid fire is not anything I would have ever considered practicing but I want to now as most self defense situations happen quickly and at short distances. Note: I am quickly drawing from my concealed carry holster for these drills.

Anyhow this is how I have been practicing and my results.

1) Initially I practiced using instinctive shooting. Something I have never done, btw.

I can engage and shoot two targets really fast using this method, even double taps. My targets are 12:00 o'clock and 9:00 o'clock or 12:00 o'clock and 1:00 o'clock depending on which one I am facing. My accuracy is fully sufficient at 10ft but unacceptable at 15ft to 20ft. I could still hit the silhouette target with regularity at those distances but I would have quite a few misses and that is unacceptable to me.

2) Consequently, I moved away from instinctive shooting and have resorted to front sight acquisition only for rapid/quick fire. I'm strictly practicing from 15ft and 20ft now. I have seen some improvement at that distance but my accuracy is still not acceptable for me.

* I am consistently shooting low on the first round/target with a grouping of about 14in. Most of my shots are in the silhouette but around the mid to upper belly area. A few will be between the hand and body, so a miss.

* My grouping on the second target are better and at chest or lower chest area. I think my results are better on the second target because the gun is already at level -vs- coming to level as with the first target.